The Metropolitan Orchestra: Sumptuous Strings

Duo Histoire
Duo Histoire

The Metropolitan Orchestra’s July concert will feature some of the best known string classics of all time, in addition to a unique pairing of saxophone and guitar with string orchestra in TMO’s second world premiere for the year.

In this Sumptuous Strings performance, TMO’s string section led by Chief Conductor and Artistic Director Sarah-Grace Williams will take the audience on a journey of luscious depth and emotion beginning with Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings followed by Gustav Holst’s St Paul’s Suite. Piazzolla’s Double Concerto was originally written for bandoneon and guitar, but for this performance it has an exciting re-arrangement for saxophone and guitar in a world premiere performance for which Duo Histoire joins the TMO.

Edvard Grieg’s Holberg Suite and Felix Mendelssohn’s single movement String Symphony Number 10, which he wrote at the age of just 14, complete the programme.

This concert is TMO’s debut at the Sydney Congress Hall in Elizabeth Street, Sydney.

Bookings: or call (02) 8004-3472

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *