Winners Of 2016 ENO Mackerras Fellowship Announced

Sir Charles Mackerras, AC, CH, CBE (1925 – 2010)  Australian conductor, was one of the nation’s most revered and loved musicians. He was the first Australian chief conductor of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra and also had a glittering career around the world.

The English National Opera (ENO) is just one ensemble with which he had a long and enduring relationship. He was its Music Director between 1970 and 1977. To commemorate his legacy, the ENO has created the ENO Mackerras Fellowship which provides a unique opportunity for “an exceptional emerging conducting talent to develop their skills through a structured two-year programme with mentoring from ENO Music Director, Mark Wigglesworth.”

This week it was announced that the 2016  ENO Mackerras Fellowship has been awarded to two young conductors, Toby Purser and Matthew Waldren who will take up their positions in September 2016.

Click here to read more.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *