Kats-Chernin Premiere From The Metropolitan Orchestra

Svetlana Yaroslavskaya
Svetlana Yaroslavskaya

The Metropolitan Orchestra with Chief Conductor Sarah-Grace Williams present their next Met Concert which features a premiere by Russian born Australian composer Elena Kats-Chernin performed by Russian born flautist and TMO principal, Svetlana Yaroslavskaya. Coupled with Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No 2, Met Concert #4 will be an emotive musical experience full of Russian passion and flavour.

Elena’s original composition Re-Inventions uses the structures and melodies of Bach’s famous Inventions as springboards for her own original work to reflect a variety of colours and sounds. Now re-orchestrated for flute to be performed by Svetlana Yaroslavskaya, this will be the first time that all 6 Re-Inventions for flute will be performed live. 

“I am thrilled that Svetlana is playing Re-Inventions with The Metropolitan Orchestra strings. Originally, the piece was written for recorders and strings. I adapted the first 3 movements for flute a few years ago, but this is the first time that movements 4, 5, 6 will also be played on Flute. I met and heard Svetlana’s beautiful expressive playing in several concerts over the past few years and we’ve often spoken about a collaboration. Additionally, the opportunity to again join with Sarah-Grace Williams for the first performance of this piece with The Metropolitan Orchestra is very exciting for me,” said Elena.

The second half of the evening will feature Rachmaninoff’s haunting Symphony No. 2. After a disastrous reception to his Symphony No. 1, Rachmaninoff fell into the pits of despair. It took almost 10 years before he finished this second symphony which was received to great applause winning him the coveted Glinka award and restoring his confidence and sense of self-worth as a symphonic writer. Often considered to represent both hope and redemption, this hugely expressive work is a meandering musical journey from anguish to triumph.


The programme: Kats-Chernin Re-Inventions for Flute and Strings
Rachmaninoff symphony No 2 

The Metropolitan Orchestra/ Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams/Flute: Svetlana Yaroslavskaya

Click here to book
Or phone: (02)8007-7131

The A-One Cafe in the ABC Centre will be open from 7pm for pre-concert drinks and snacks.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *