The Metropolitan Orchestra: Sumptuous Strings

MC#3 2017 Postcard CC version

The Metropolitan Orchestra presents Sumptuous Strings featuring some of the best known string classics alongside the unique pairing of saxophone and guitar with string orchestra which includes TMO’s second world premiere for this year.

In this debut concert in the Sydney Congress Hall, TMO’s string section led by Chief Conductor and Artistic Director Sarah-Grace Williams will take the audience on a journey of deep emotion beginning with Samuel Barber’s iconic Adagio for Strings followed by Gustav Holst’s St Paul’s Suite. Piazzolla’s Double Concerto was originally written for bandoneon and guitar, but for this performance it has an exciting re-arrangement by Nicholas Russionello, for saxophone and guitar in a world premiere performance when Duo Histoire join with The Metropolitan Orchestra.

Rounding out the program will be Edvard Grieg’s Holberg Suite and Felix Mendelssohn’s single movement String Symphony Number 10, which he wrote at the age of only 14.

The programme:

ARBER Adagio for Strings
HOLST St. Paul’s Suite
PIAZZOLLA Double Concerto arr: Duo Histoire World Premiere
GRIEG Holberg Suite
MENDELSSOHN String Symphony #10

Click here to book.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *