ARCO Presents Revolutionary Romance


The Chamber Soloists of the Australian Romantic and Classical Orchestra (ARCO) gather outstanding musicians performing on period instruments, in their customary Historically Informed Performance (HIP) style, for the final concert in the 2017 series, Revolutionary Romance.

Revolutionary Romance tours in to Sydney, Adelaide, Melbourne and the Blue Mountains and will feature the rich sounds and textures of Classical period strings performing sublime chamber works by Mozart and Spohr, showcasing Australian basset clarinet virtuoso, Nicole van Bruggen.

Whilst Spohr introduces us to a revolutionary Romantic world of string playing, Mozart is at his best in the famous Clarinet Quintet, written for the Viennese master-clarinetist Anton Stadler. The Grande Sestetto Concertante, familiar to audiences as Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola, will be performed here in its magnificent chamber music version.

Under the Artistic Direction of renowned musician and educator Richard Gill AO, the Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra is a world-class ensemble of leading Australian musicians from around Australia and internationally where they may be based, sharing a dedication to the performance of Classical and Romantic orchestral and chamber music in historically informed style (HIP) on period instruments.

Since its inception in 2013, ARCO has enjoyed unprecedented success. The orchestra also provides opportunities for engagement and education with wide audiences through broadcasts and specialist music education programs.

Nicole van Bruggen is ARCO co-founder and principal clarinetist as well as a member of its Artistic Team. She studied modern clarinet at the Sydney Conservatorium and was awarded the Queen’s Trust Scholarship to continue her studies abroad. Consequently, Nicole moved to The Netherlands where she graduated with a postgraduate degree in historical clarinet and HIP from the Royal Conservatorium in The Hague. She recently returned to Australia after seventeen years in Europe including engagements as principal clarinet in many of Europe’s finest historical instrument orchestras.

ARCO Chamber Soloists present Revolutionary Romance
Rachael Beesley, director | Nicole van Bruggen, basset clarinet soloist

The programme: LOUIS SPOHR: Allegro Moderato from String Sextet in C Major, Op.140/ WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART: Clarinet Quintet in A Major K.581 and Grande Sestetto Concertante in E Flat Major K.364

Tickets Sydney & Melbourne: Premium $95 | A-Reserve Adult $75 | A-Reserve Concession $65/ A-Reserve Student $30/35 | Groups 10+ 10% discount | Sydney B-Reserve $25-65 |Blue Mountains $75-95
Full information and bookings:


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *