IFAC Australian Singing Competition Finals



Five future stars of opera from Australia and New Zealand compete for an array of prizes and opportunities including the prestigious Marianne Mathy Scholarship in the finals concert of the 2016 IFAC Australian Singing Competition.

The Australian Opera & Ballet Orchestra conducted by Benjamin Northey will accompany the finalists and perform
Wagner’s Overture to Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg and in a rare opportunity to play the music of Beethoven, the Egmont Overture. Damien Beaumont will compere the evening.

The finalists are:

Morgan Balfour, soprano, 23, from NSW, singing Ah! Tardai troppo… from Linda di Chamonix  by Donizetti and Sul fil d’un soffio etesio from Verdi’s Falstaff;

Eliza Boom, soprano, 22 from New Zealand, singing Je dis que rien ne m’épouvante from Bizet’s Carmen and Si, mi chiamano Mimi from Puccini’s La Bohème

Jarvis Dams, baritone, 25, from New Zealand singing  Largo al factotum from Rossini’s Il barbiere di Siviglia and L’orage est calmé from Les pêcheurs de perles  by Bizet;

Nicholas Tolputt, counter tenor, 25 from NSW, singing Stille amare from Handel’s Tolomeo and I know a bank… A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Britten;

Sarah Wang, soprano, 24 from NSW singing Song to the Moon from Rusalka by Dvorak and Come scoglio from Così fan  tutte by Mozart.

Jonathan Abernethy, Winner 2014 Opera Awards and Anna Dowsley, Winner 2012 Marianne Mathy Scholarship will perform for us. Jonathan Abernethy will sing two arias by Mozart – Dies Bildnis ist bezaubernd schön from Die Zauberflöte and Un aura Amorosa from Così fan tutte. 

The two singers will sing Nuit d’ivresse from Les Troyens by Berlioz.

As well, the winner of the inaugural MOST® Achievement Award, established by the Music & Opera Singers Trust Ltd. (MOST®) to recognise great achievements in the arts by individuals who demonstrate the highest ideals and qualities for promoting the positive evolution of music and the associated arts, support their artistic community, and contribute to the cultural life of Australia.

Recipients have been nominated by a panel of industry peers. Jeffrey Black, Chair of the Advisory Committee (and former Mathy Winner) will present the inaugural MAA recipient at the Finals Concert.

Click here to book.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *